Filmfritz GmbH is a film and television production company based in Munich. We produce films for various broadcasters, and for clients from industry. Our main focus is on documentaries. Why?

Documentaries are witnesses of the past. They show us real, non-fictional life in a condensed form. Reality offers an inexhaustible and fascinating range of topics. We’re especially interested in observing how people develop, and in detecting social trends. Here, time is an important element for us: we take the time to observe people, to discover stories that are not so obvious, and also take our time when filming and editing. What’s important for us?  Well-founded research; sensitive and responsible interaction with protagonists; authenticity; and an original visual language. The managing director Astrid Bscher works as a director in her own production company, concentrating mainly on television portraits and extended documentaries. A lot of her work involves the stage – i.e. music, opera and the theatre, as well as the fine arts and architecture.

Filmfritz GmbH is a film and television production company based in Munich. We produce films for various broadcasters, and for clients from...  

mehr

Wotan Must Wait. The singer Günther Groissböck.

Father of the Gods, Castle of the Gods, Wotan, Valhalla – words that instantly conjure up the "Ring of the Nibelung", Richard Wagner, and Bayreuth. For almost one hundred and fifty years, people have counted the singers brave enough to perform the weighty and extremely difficult role of Wotan. In the summer of 2020, Günther Groissböck was to have been the new Wotan at Bayreuth. The Austrian currently has an international career; he is a regular at the Metropolitan Opera in New York and at all major European opera houses. For many months, we accompanied him on his way to this complex debut, and watched his “Wotan” grow. Then came Covid-19, the lockdown, and the closure of all opera houses. So the portrait of Günther Groissböck has now become a film about the fact that nothing in life can be planned. Everything an artist encounters – joy as well as pain – can become part his inner trove of experience, in the hope that he can use these feelings as a kind of raw material to continue shaping himself. Written and directed by: Astrid Bscher

Father of the Gods, Castle of the Gods, Wotan, Valhalla – words that instantly conjure up the "Ring of the Nibelung", Richard Wagner, and...  

mehr

The myth of the tenor. Heroes of the operatic stage

Furente grido dell’anima or “wild cry of the soul” - that's what the Italians call a tenor’s high C. For centuries now, singers producing high notes with their chest voice have been the main focus of the opera world - especially where women are concerned. Enrico Caruso or Mario del Monaco were celebrated like popstars in their day, and the generation of Luciano Pavarotti even began to appear in football stadiums. But there is more to it all than just training the body to produce unnatural, almost feminine pitches. Tenors are only really adored when they have the bearing of a true dragon-slayer to match. The myth of the tenor has a lot to do with a longing for the seemingly incompatible - for example, empathy versus a fierce fighting spirit, or tenderness versus toughness. This 52-minute-long film commissioned by ARTE/WDR – together with present-day tenors such as Peter Seiffert, Jonas Kaufmann, Klaus Florian Vogt, Vittorio Grigolo and Joseph Calleja – sets out to discover why these high-voiced heroes remain so perennially fascinating.

Furente grido dell’anima or “wild cry of the soul” - that's what the Italians call a tenor’s high C. For centuries now, singers producing high...  

mehr

The Olympus Of the Arts – Munich’s Nationaltheater.

Some people regard opera as a magical place where miracles can happen – others as a pointless relic from a bygone era that is only kept afloat through state subsidies. Nevertheless, the art form has survived – it has been around for over 400 years. One of the world’s oldest opera houses is located in Munich: the city’s Nationaltheater. Destroyed by a fire in 1823 and bombed in 1943, it was rebuilt each time. Film director Astrid Bscher takes an anniversary as an occasion to retell the building’s history. Her film, commissioned by Bavarian Television, also sheds light on the creative processes that take place in and around an opera house. The story of how Richard Strauss's “Die Frau ohne Schatten” came into being is documented by the correspondence between the composer (played by Rainer Bock) and his lyricist Hugo von Hofmannsthal (Alexander Beyer) – and also by a new production of this opera, conducted by Kirill Petrenko and directed by Krzysztof Warlikowski.

Some people regard opera as a magical place where miracles can happen – others as a pointless relic from a bygone era that is only kept afloat...  

mehr

Andrés Orozco-Estrada (In Production)

Anyone who observes the Colombian Andrés Orozco-Estrada at rehearsals with the WDR Symphony Orchestra, or with his very own HR Symphony Orchestra, will notice that this conductor is very wiry and temperamental: he speaks enthusiastically and quickly, guides the orchestra to the sound that he wants with broad sweeping gestures or tender, intimate ones, and radiates strength in his constant search for the very soul of the music. If you meet Andrés Orozco-Estrada after the rehearsal, however, you encounter a calm and modest man. Every sentence spoken by this 42-year-old is well considered, regardless of whether he is talking about composers, Viennese desserts, or the European order of things that so fascinates him. And it is probably this mixture of grand emotion and clear structure that is already making this young conductor so successful. Orozco-Estrada came to Vienna from Colombia at the age of 19 to study, and combines the positive aspects of both cultures. We accompany him over a period of several years, filming him in Vienna, Glyndebourne, and his native Colombia.

Anyone who observes the Colombian Andrés Orozco-Estrada at rehearsals with the WDR Symphony Orchestra, or with his very own HR Symphony...  

mehr

The conductor Andris Nelsons - Genius on Fire

Andris Nelsons seems to have just two physical states – solid or liquid. Either he sits firmly on a chair, quiet, self-absorbed, and saying very little. Or he flows, streaming all his energy into his surroundings. An in-between state of so-called normality does not exist with him, and never did. Nelsons was a prodigy from his childhood onwards, and today conducts the best orchestras in the world. The trumpeter Hokan Hardenberger puts it like this: “He has a lot of energy. Every note in the score becomes music, it really does. With him, everything has weight. There are no half-measures, not even in rehearsals. He’s always full of intensity.” The film accompanies the Latvian conductor for a period of two years, in locations such as his home city of Riga, and on concert tours to Vienna, Zurich and Munich. A production commissioned by WDR/ARTE, the film is also available on DVD.

Andris Nelsons seems to have just two physical states – solid or liquid. Either he sits firmly on a chair, quiet, self-absorbed, and saying...  

mehr

A gift for Düsseldorf - the eco-house for economists

They transformed a small country pharmacy into an internationally active pharmaceutical company with 4,100 employees worldwide - and now they want to help students to be just as successful. The former owners of “Schwarz Pharma” (the Schwarz-Schütte family) are giving Düsseldorf an “Oeconomicum” worth 40 million dollars. Behind the ambiguous name lies a modern, ecological, transparent glass building into which all the business students at Heinrich Heine University are moving. The architect is Christoph Ingenhoven. And a newly-established chair is also part of the gift. The Düsseldorf students are now increasingly occupied with research into the concept of competition.

They transformed a small country pharmacy into an internationally active pharmaceutical company with 4,100 employees worldwide - and now they...  

mehr

The Mastersinger. Klaus Florian Vogt

At the age of 30, Klaus Florian Vogt led a secure middle-class existence, as a horn player with the Hamburg Philharmonic with a lifetime contract, living with his family of four in his home town of Brunsbüttel. But the predictability of his life terrified him. One day, a singing professor casually told him: "You are a tenor, and if you want, you can come more often." Vogt gradually decided it was time for a change. The film "Der Meistersinger" shows how an opportunity that many people would have let slip has now turned into a world career. With her camera, for five years, the author accompanied this tenor who discovered his true calling late in life. The result is a deeply moving portrait that deals with singing as an opportunity for self-realization. The film is available on DVD.

At the age of 30, Klaus Florian Vogt led a secure middle-class existence, as a horn player with the Hamburg Philharmonic with a lifetime...  

mehr

Making of Ballo – José Cura

A star tenor as a director? A marketing gimmick, surely? José Cura has never been surpassed in versatility - he studied piano, composition and conducting, was a rugby player, and worked as a fitness trainer – and now he’s a director too? The Argentine was mostly successful when he performed on stage in all his glory. Although the ladies officially only praise his “creamy baritone-based spinto voice”, they also adore his good looks. Maybe those will also help him with his first job as a director? The entertaining documentary "Making of Ballo" accompanies the brilliant showman José Cura From the first mock-up set rehearsal all the way to the premiere at the Cologne Opera, showing how he captivates the whole team – and brings an exciting production of Giuseppe Verdi's "Un Ballo in Maschera" to the operatic stage.

A star tenor as a director? A marketing gimmick, surely? José Cura has never been surpassed in versatility - he studied piano, composition and...  

mehr

Die Filmfritz GmbH ist eine Film- und Fernsehproduktionsgesellschaft mit Firmensitz in München. Wir produzieren Filme für verschiedene Sender und für Auftraggeber aus der Industrie. Das Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf dem Dokumentarfilm. Warum? Dokumentarfilme sind Zeitzeugen. Sie zeigen das real stattfindende, non-fiktionale Leben in einer verdichteten Form. Die Realität bietet ein unerschöpfliches und faszinierendes Angebot an Themen. Unser besonderes Interesse liegt darin, Entwicklungen von Menschen zu beobachten und gesellschaftliche Strömungen auszumachen. Dabei ist die Zeit für uns ein wichtiges Element: Wir nehmen uns Zeit um Menschen zu beobachten. Zeit, um Geschichten, die nicht offensichtlich sind, zu entdecken und wir lassen uns auch beim Drehen und beim Schnitt Zeit. Wichtig ist uns: Eine fundierte Recherche. Sensibler und verantwortungsvoller Umgang mit den Protagonisten. Authentizität. Eine originelle Bildsprache. Die Geschäftsführerin Astrid Bscher arbeitet als Regisseurin in ihrer eigenen Produktionsfirma, konzentriert sich hauptsächlich auf Fernsehportraits und auf Langzeitdokumentationen. Sie bewegt sich häufig im Umfeld von Bühnen, also Musik, Oper, Theater oder im Bereich der bildenden Kunst und der Architektur.

Die Filmfritz GmbH ist eine Film- und Fernsehproduktionsgesellschaft mit Firmensitz in München. Wir produzieren Filme für verschiedene Sender...  

mehr

Wotan muss warten. Der Sänger Günther Groissböck.

Göttervater, Götterburg, Wotan, Walhall – wer diese Worte hört, denkt an den „Ring des Nibelungen“, an Richard Wagner, an Bayreuth. Seit fast hundertfünfzig Jahren zählt man die Sänger, die sich die umfangreiche und schwere Rolle des „Wotan“ zutrauen. Im Sommer 2020 sollte Günther Groissböck Bayreuths neuer „Wotan“ sein. Der Österreicher macht gerade eine Weltkarriere, ist Stammgast an der Metropolitan Opera New York und an allen bedeutenden europäischen Häusern. Viele Monate haben wir ihn auf seinem Weg zu diesem komplexen Rollendebüt begleitet, zugesehen, wie sein „Wotan“ wächst. Dann kam Covid-19, der Lockdown, die Schließung aller Opernhäuser. So ist das Portrait über Günther Groissböck auch ein Film darüber geworden, dass sich im Leben nichts planen lässt. Darüber, wie man alles, was einem begegnet – Glück und Schmerz - mitnimmt in seinen inneren Erfahrungsschatz und hofft, dass diese Gefühle ein Rohstoff sind, aus dem der Künstler weiter an sich formen kann.
Buch und Regie: Astrid Bscher. 

Göttervater, Götterburg, Wotan, Walhall – wer diese Worte hört, denkt an den „Ring des Nibelungen“, an Richard Wagner, an Bayreuth. Seit fast...  

mehr

Mythos Tenor. Die Helden der Opernbühne

Wilder Schrei der Seele – so nennen die Italiener das hohe c eines Tenors. Seit Jahrhunderten sind Sänger, die hohe Töne mit der Bruststimme singen, Mittelpunkt der Opernwelt - vor allem der Frauenwelt. Enrico Caruso oder auch Mario del Monaco wurden zu ihren Zeiten gefeiert wie Popstars und die Generation von Luciano Pavarotti begann dann sogar in Fußball-Stadien aufzutreten. Doch es geht um mehr, als darum den Körper auf die Produktion von unnatürlichen, beinahe femininen Tonhöhen zu trainieren. Vergöttert wird der Tenor erst, wenn er gleichzeitig den Habitus eines Drachentöters hat. Der Tenor-Mythos hat viel mit der Sehnsucht nach scheinbar Unvereinbarem zu tun, zum Beispiel der Gegensätze Mitgefühl und Kämpfergeist, Weichheit und Härte. Der 52-Film lange Film, der im Auftrag von ARTE/WDR entstand macht sich mit den heutigen Tenören wie Peter Seiffert, Jonas Kaufmann, Klaus Florian Vogt, Vittorio Grigolo oder Joseph Calleja auf die Suche nach der immer gleichen Faszination von Helden mit hoher Stimme.

Wilder Schrei der Seele – so nennen die Italiener das hohe c eines Tenors. Seit Jahrhunderten sind Sänger, die hohe Töne mit der Bruststimme...  

mehr

Im Olymp der Kunst. Das Nationaltheater in München.

Oper ist ein entrückter Ort, ist Raum für „das Wunderbare“ - denken die einen. Oper ist überflüssig, Relikt einer vergangenen Zeit, nur durch staatliche Subventionen am Leben zu erhalten - sagen die anderen. Dennoch überdauert diese Kunstform alle Zeit und lebt seit über 400 Jahren. Eines der ältesten Opernhäuser steht in München: 1823 abgebrannt, 1943 zerbombt und jeweils wiederaufgebaut nimmt die Regisseurin Astrid Bscher ein Jubiläum zum Anlass, um die Geschichte des Nationaltheaters neu zu erzählen. Gleichzeitig beleuchtet der im Auftrag des Bayerischen Fernsehens entstandene Film auch die kreativen Prozesse, die in und um ein Opernhaus herum statt finden: Erlebbar wird die Entstehungsgeschichte der „Die Frau ohne Schatten“ von Richard Strauss, dokumentiert im Briefwechsel des Komponisten (dargestellt von Rainer Bock) und seines Textdichters Hugo von Hofmannsthal (Alexander Beyer). Und eine Neuinszenierung dieser Oper unter der musikalischen Leitung von Kirill Petrenko in der Regie von Krzysztof Warlikowski.

Oper ist ein entrückter Ort, ist Raum für „das Wunderbare“ - denken die einen. Oper ist überflüssig, Relikt einer vergangenen Zeit, nur durch...  

mehr

Andrés Orozco-Estrada (in Produktion)

Wer den Kolumbianer Andrés Orozco-Estrada bei Orchesterproben mit dem WDR-Sinfonieorchester oder „seinem“ HR-Sinfonie-Orchester beobachtet, erlebt einen temperamentvollen, sehr drahtigen Dirigenten: Er spricht engagiert und schnell, führt dem Orchester mit ausufernden oder innig-zarten Bewegungen die richtige Stimmung vor und verströmt Kraft - immer auf der Suche nach der Seele in der Musik. Trifft man Andrés Orozco-Estrada jedoch nach der Probe, erlebt man einen ruhigen und bescheidenen Mann. Einen 42-jährigen, bei dem jeder Satz durchdacht ist, egal ob er über Komponisten spricht, über Wiener Süßspeisen oder die ihn so faszinierende europäische Ordnung der Dinge. Und es ist wohl diese Mischung aus großen Gefühlen und einer klaren Struktur, die ihn schon als jungen Dirigenten so erfolgreich macht. Orozco-Estrada ist als 19-jähriger aus Kolumbien zum Studium nach Wien gekommen und trägt das Positive beider Kulturkreise in sich. Wir begleiten den Kolumbianer über mehrere Jahre mit der Kamera nach Wien, Glyndebourne sowie in seiner Heimat Kolumbien.

Wer den Kolumbianer Andrés Orozco-Estrada bei Orchesterproben mit dem WDR-Sinfonieorchester oder „seinem“ HR-Sinfonie-Orchester beobachtet,...  

mehr

Genius on Fire. Der Dirigent Andris Nelsons

Bei Andris Nelsons gibt es nur zwei Aggregatzustände, durchaus als fest oder flüssig zu beschreiben. Entweder er sitzt fest auf einem Stuhl, ruhig, in sich versunken und spricht wenig. Oder er fließt, verströmt seine ganze Energie in seine Umwelt. Eine Mitte, so genannte Normalität gibt es in seinem Leben nicht, gab es auch früher nicht: Er war von Kindheit an ein Ausnahmetalent, ist ein Ausnahmemusiker und führte schon mit 34 Jahren ein höchst ungewöhnliches Dirigentenleben mit den besten Orchestern der Welt. Treffend beschreibt ihn der Trompeter Hokan Hardenberger: „Er hat sehr viel Energie. Wirklich jeder, jeder Ton in der Partitur wird Musik. Mit ihm hat alles Gewicht. Es gibt nichts Halbes, auch in der Probe nicht. Er ist immer voller Intensität. Und das, das finde ich toll.“ Die Regisseurin Astrid Bscher hat den lettischen Dirigenten Andris Nelsons zwei Jahre lang begleitet, reiste mit ihm u.a. nach Riga, Wien, Zürich oder München und hat einen 52-Minuten langen Film in deutsch, französisch, und englisch produziert. Eine DVD des Filmes ist bei Orfeo erschienen.

Bei Andris Nelsons gibt es nur zwei Aggregatzustände, durchaus als fest oder flüssig zu beschreiben. Entweder er sitzt fest auf einem Stuhl,...  

mehr

Ein Geschenk für Düsseldorf. Das Öko-Haus für Ökonomen.

Sie haben aus einer Landapotheke ein weltweit agierendes Pharma-Unternehmen mit 4.100 Mitarbeitern entwickelt und nun wollen sie Studenten helfen ebenso erfolgreich zu werden: Die ehemaligen Eigentümer von Schwarz-Pharma (Die Familien Schwarz und Schwarz-Schütte) schenken Düsseldorf ein 40 Millionen teures Oeconomicum. Hinter dem mehrdeutigen Namen verbirgt sich ein hochmodernes, ökologisches, transparentes Gebäude, in welches alle Wirtschaftsstudenten der Heinrich-Heine-Universität einziehen dürfen. Außerdem ist ein neu gegründeter Lehrstuhl Teil des Geschenks: die Düsseldorfer kümmern sich jetzt vermehrt um die Erforschung von Wettbewerb. Der Film begleitet die Entstehung eines nachhaltigen Gebäudes, zeigt den auf grüne Architektur spezialisierten Christoph Ingenhoven in Aktion. Parallel geht es um die Unternehmensgeschichte und die Motivation der Familie, die das Gebäude für die Allgemeinheit baut und stiftet.

Sie haben aus einer Landapotheke ein weltweit agierendes Pharma-Unternehmen mit 4.100 Mitarbeitern entwickelt und nun wollen sie Studenten...  

mehr

Der Meistersinger: Klaus Florian Vogt

Mit 30 Jahren führt Klaus Vogt eine gesicherte bürgerliche Existenz: Er ist Hornist auf Lebenszeit bei den Philharmonikern in Hamburg und lebt mit seiner vierköpfigen Familie in seiner Heimat, einer Kleinstadt in Schleswig-Holstein. Doch die Vorhersehbarkeit seines Lebens erschreckt ihn. Als ihm ein Gesangsprofessor beiläufig erklärt: „Du bist ein Tenor, wenn Du willst, kannst Du ja öfter kommen, dann üben wir etwas“, bekommt er Lust auf Veränderung. Wie sich aus einer Gelegenheit, die viele Menschen ungenutzt verstreichen lassen würden, eine Weltkarriere entwickelt hat, zeigt Astrid Bschers Film „Der Meistersinger“. Sieben Jahre lang hat die Autorin den spätberufenen Tenor mit der Kamera begleitet und seine Wege zwischen Hamburg, Köln, Mailand, Bilbao, München und Bayreuth verfolgt. Seine Wandlung zum „Florian“. Denn dieser zweiten Vornamen erklingt nun auch.  Entstanden ist ein bewegendes, heiteres 52-Minuten langes Porträt, das vom Singen als Möglichkeit zur Selbstverwirklichung handelt.
Der Film ist als DVD bei Sony erschienen

Mit 30 Jahren führt Klaus Vogt eine gesicherte bürgerliche Existenz: Er ist Hornist auf Lebenszeit bei den Philharmonikern in Hamburg und lebt...  

mehr

Making of Ballo. Der schillernde José Cura

Ein Startenor als Regisseur? Ist das ein einfältiger Marketing-Gag? José Cura, der nie an Vielseitigkeit zu überbieten war - er studierte Klavier, Komposition, Dirigieren, war Rugby-Spieler und arbeitete als Fitnesstrainer - nun also ein Regisseur? Erfolgreich war der Argentinier meistens dann, wenn er in voller Schönheit auf der Bühne zu sehen war. Auch wenn die Damen offiziell nur seinen "sämig baritonal grundierten Spinto-Tenor" loben, sie lieben sein Erscheinungsbild. Und vielleicht hilft ihm das auch bei seiner ersten Regiearbeit? Von der ersten Bauprobe bis zur Premiere an der Oper Köln begleitet die unterhaltsame Reportage "Making of Ballo" den genialen Selbstdarsteller José Curas dabei wie er Darstellung vermittelt, ein großes Team in seinen Bann zieht und eine wirklich spannende und großartige Inszenierung von Guiseppe Verdi's "Ballo in Maschera" auf die Bühne bringt.

Ein Startenor als Regisseur? Ist das ein einfältiger Marketing-Gag? José Cura, der nie an Vielseitigkeit zu überbieten war - er studierte...  

mehr